2023 ARRL DX SSB Contest Wrapup

There were many personal factors that kept me from running competitively on the ARRL DX SSB contest this last weekend. I had intended to run this with either the 15m Moxon or the EFHW vertical beam but I just did not have the time to deploy either. I did not have an opportunity to operate the contest until nearly noon on Sunday.

Weather here was nice so I opted to take out the IC-705 with the JPC-12 antenna and setup for QRP “field day” style. Working 10m & 15m I managed 10 DX QSO’s in about an hour and a half. The contacts I did complete were done without difficulty. Furthest contacts were to Canary Islands and Argentina. 10m appeared to be the better band during this time.

I submitted my log as QRP non-assisted. All in all, I was glad to get outside with the radio and enjoy making some QRP DX.

Leave a comment