Cam Lever Mast Clamps

Spent some time yesterday working out a design for Spiderpole Mast Clamps. I wanted some thing that was easy to use in the field to keep the sections together on windy days. The Spiderpole is very prone to collapse under wind loading. I came up with the following prototype:

IMG_0638

Design of the cam action lever was interesting as I found what I was looking for on the Mcmaster-carr website and downloaded the associated STEP files. This made it easy to import into Fusion 360. The base worked as is. I designed a pin to accommodate a #6 machine screw. The cam lever had to be modified to allow it to be 3D printed.

I used these parts to successfully test the concept and now have to layout rings for each section of the Spider pole.

One response to “Cam Lever Mast Clamps

  1. VK2TWR May 10, 2020 at 1:17 pm

    great job I have used the commercial time clamps similar to your design top job Have a similar cam type locking pin on a gin pole extender

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment