Progress on 20m Half Square Version 2.0

I am calling this the Half Square 2.0 because I have built it before. This time I am using the modular PVC mast supports and the new fishing poles I sourced a few months ago. The vertical sections need about 20 feet which allows me to use a stringer section of the pole that is at least 1/2″ in diameter. Here are the mast supports that will support the fishing poles about 4 feet off the ground.

I have a second support tripod built and will slip the ends of the poles over a piece of 3/4″ PVC pipe. This should not need any guy lines. I am using #18 speaker wire for the antenna element and the EFHW match box to end feed it. Only issue was separating a 60 foot length of speaker wire. This stuff gets badly tangled the more you separate the conductors. Spent way more time untangling than I had wanted to. Ran out of time Sunday to get this deployed for testing as I had to attend church services. I will likely set this up Wednesday afternoon after the yard gets mowed.

Leave a comment