Mini60 Bluetooth Progress – Nothing is Ever Easy!

I soldered the bluetooth module onto the Mini60 at the five solder pads. At this point I installed the battery and shorted across the switch terminals to test ot. The Mini60 comes up ok and I can place it into PC Link mode but the module is not powered up. Turns out there is is no 3.3V coming in at the pad I soldered it to. I have removed the module and rechecked the voltage and there is no power. Sigh…

There is not schematic or PCB layout for the Mini60 but it is very close to the SARK100. I found 3.3V coming out of the USB chip but have not found how its piped to the second PCB. So work has stalled and I’ll have to check all the required signals by tracing manually.

Update 5/16/17: Ok I think I found the problem. There are three pads that need to have jumpers installed to connect the top board to the bottom board. These three pads bring in the UART RX and TX signals and the 3.3V to the pads where the Bluetooth module is installed. Will solder the module back in place and test later today. The instructions at http://www.die-jetzis.de/bt_install.htm indicated only two pads. Looks like there are several variations of this board. I have noted that several folks have reported issues with the  Bluetooth module not responding. This is the likely cause as it is not clearly documented. Here is the board and the three pads are just left of the BT module:

Photo May 16, 9 34 26 AM

Leave a Reply

