40m 1/4 Wave Vertical is OTA! 

Got a late start today in setting up a 1/4 wave antenna for 40m. I had cut a 33 foot piece of #12 wire for this purpose a few days ago but weather did not permit me setting it up till late this afternoon. I layed out the 18 radials as before and then sent up the wire. Tuning took a few tries but I was rewarded with a less than 2:1 SWR across the 40m band. Also works on the 3rd harmonic so I have most of the 15m band covered as well. Resonance smack in the middle of the 40m band with a 1:1 SWR!

First station that came up was from Ukraine but I didn’t bust the pile-up. Started testing JT-65 and WSPR but I could not transmit…doh! After pulling my hair out for well over an hour found that the RT programmer software made a subtle change to my ports setup. A quick fix and I was back in business. I am running 40m WSPR on 1/2W and so far the results look real good. Will wake up early and try some JT-65 to the Pasific and Asia. Best antenna yet!

3 responses to “40m 1/4 Wave Vertical is OTA! 

  1. Andrew VK1AD April 13, 2017 at 12:05 pm

    I enjoy reading your adventures in AR. Curious to know the method of supporting the 10 metre radiator element?
    Cheers Andrew VK1AD

    Like

    • rjbono April 13, 2017 at 12:13 pm

      Thanks Andrew! I am glad you enjoy the posts. I am using a SOTA Beams travel mast for the mast. It is light, short when stowed and relatively inexpensive. I use two ratcheting cargo straps to straps the base to any handy fence post.when portable. When no fence post is available I use a 4 foot piece of 1-1/2″ aluminum “L” channel. Just drive it into the ground with a board and hammer. Take a look at my recent post on the 20m 1/4 wave vertical for a picture of the setup.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

