Update on APRS

About a year ago I got APRS working with a Baofeng radio, a Easy Digi interface from N5CEY and a surplus iPhone running PocketPacket. I basically set it up, tested it and put it away.  In December, I put the APRS system back together and nothing seemed to work right. Over several days nothing but frustration. I decided to try this again this afternoon. This time I got it working the first time. Go figure. For future reference things are setup as follows:

Baofeng UV-5R:  VOX=1 volume up about halfway.

PocketPacket: Tracking ON, Report Altitude ON, TX interval 15 minutes, APRS-IS DISABLED, Audio Modem ENABLED, Transmit ENABLED, VOX trigger 500mS, Digipeater path Via 1 = Wide1-1; Via 2 = Wide 2-1.

Iphone volume full.

Next I will look for a way to strap the components together for portable use.

2 responses to “Update on APRS

  1. kb5zcs (@kb5zcs) April 13, 2017 at 2:09 pm

    I went back 24 hours Rick and dont see you on APRS.fi as close as you live to me you would for sure beacon in to my I-Gate,my Igate covers all of Brownsville and the antenna is at 35 feet any way keep trying to get it to work we need more APRS down here it’s just another great part of this hobby dont let VHF/UHF Die …….

    Like

    • rjbono April 13, 2017 at 3:43 pm

      Strange Michaeil…I see my call on APRS.fi just fine. My call is NO5V just to be sure. All of the hits have been to your Igate. Anyway…its seems to be working from what I can tell.

      Like

Leave a Reply

