Life Sure is Great!

Ten days ago I started noticing a weakness in my left leg. It started pretty mild almost like my knee wanted to buckle. The next couple of days it seemed to be getting worse and I started noticing a lack of coordination in my left hand. Couldn’t type straight.My left leg felt like it was dragging when I walked. One more day passes and I can’t dress myself due to lack of coordination and weakness in my left arm and hand. Off to the emergency room. CAT scan showed a chronic Subdueral Hemotoma on the right hand side of my head squeezing the left side of my brain. The doctors were amazed that I was still responsive. Within the hour I was in the operating room getting a craniotomy.

Today I am counting my blessings. I have a radical new hairstyle, and a fresh 3″ scar on the right side of my head. My left side is recovering nicely and I have not suffered any other neurological or memory problems. Full recovery will take some time but the good news is I am still around.

The moral of this story? Trust your body when it tells you something is wrong and get some medical help. Had I waited a little while longer to seek medical help this outcome would have been very different.Not time yet to be a an SK (Silent Key).

3 responses to “Life Sure is Great!

  1. ohthecrownshewears February 14, 2017 at 4:11 pm

    You can always be like the Joker……Do you want to know how I got these scars? 🙂 I’m really glad that you’re okay.

    Like

  2. Pete February 14, 2017 at 7:08 pm

    You are so right with the policy to “listen to your body”. When I was diagnosed with heart falure in 2002 and the cardiologist gave me 2 years to live he said just listen to your body and you will know when things are getting bad. I left him to live in total isolation in the wilderness of northern Alaska but never forgot his words and on a number of occasions it no doubt saved my life. Congratulations on your new life and haircut..keep listening for that ‘mayday’ when our bodies tell us something is wrong. 73 KL1HB

    Like

  3. Andrew VK1AD February 15, 2017 at 10:37 am

    I trust you will have a full recovery. Good luck and stay well.
    73, Andrew VK1AD

    Like

Leave a Reply

