Testing End Fed Verticals

I installed a piece of 2″x2″ angle aluminum in the ground outside the shack to support my vertical travel mast. This works very nicely with the tie down straps.

photo-dec-30-5-23-26-pm

I tested the EFHW on 20m yesterday on WSPR and found that it was hearing and being heard quite well on 1W. I shifted this to the end fed matchbox that I have had for some time. This requires the tuner but allows for multi-band operation. I used the same wire as the EFHW of around 30 feet. I modified the coax arrangement so that the air chock is at the window panel instead of the feedpoint. This gives the remaining feed line as part of the counterpoise. This seems to work well. I am getting reports comparable to the EFHW on 20m with this antenna. I was able to have a good ragchew with a station in AZ on 100W SSB using this antenna. I am keeping this up through 00UTC today and see if I score in the WSPR Challenge.

Leave a Reply

