The RigExpert AA-230 Zoom

One page that folks following my blog seem to gravitate to is my review of the Mini60 antenna analyzer.It is the Sark 100 copy sold on Ebay and produced in China. I personally have found this analyzer to work quite well and I have used it exclusively to test out my antennas. Your mileage may vary.

Now that I am doing some additional antenna work I have purchased a RigExpert AA-230 Zoom. This unit is a bit pricey compared to MFJ units and certainly to the Mini60 but from what I have done with it thus far it is well worth it. I’ll publish a comprehensive review later but for now I am sold on it. It is light, provides accurate and quick scans, has an impressive array of features including cable TDR testing and a great USB interface. The software works great with a PC and can save files in a format that Zplots can read.I used it for the first time in the field on the 40m loop and it made short work of tuning it. The interface takes a little getting used to but overall is very smooth to handle.

I will not be getting rid of the Mini60 as for quick and dirty measurements it still can’t be beat for the money. The RigExpert will be for more advanced testing and data collection and will of course help me with 2m antenna work.

aa230zoom-sm1

Leave a Reply

