HSMM Tests Planned

Another local ham, KB5ZCS, has setup a HSMM node and will be ready to test it this weekend. His QTH is 2.2 miles from mine and he will have the node up about 30 feet. I have dusted off my two nodes and updated the configuration to my new call sign. This should go without saying but don’t forget your password info when setting up your nodes! I did. Turns out there is a procedure for resetting it using “fail-safe” mode. Fortunately that worked!

I have ordered for overnight delivery two 9dBi antennas, a pair of PoE splitters and 50ft of cat 5 coax. The plan on my end is to hand the node up a 20 ft painters pole and see if we can make contact and measure signal strengths. If this works I can mount the node out side permanently on my VHF mast.I am looking to setup a linux server on a virtual machine so there is something to hook up to during the test.

Leave a Reply

