Thinking about my next Antenna Project…

I am thinking of trying to design and build a 20m portable Hexbeam for 20m. I found some fiberglass tent pole repair kits at Academy for $5. These would give me about 9 feet of spreader arm. If I can source some proper sized shock cords I would be able to add additional sections to get the length I need to support a beam. Nice part of these is that they would break down to about 2 foot sections. I am thinking of something that structurally would be a hybrid of the flat spiderbeam design and the inverted umbrella hexbeam design. I plan to keep this to a single band version for now as propagation is continuing to degrade on the higher frequency bands plus this should be a lot simpler to build and test.

Leave a Reply

