Email over HF Revisited

I setup the ICOM 7100 to run with Winlink Express (formerly RMS Express) software to send email over HF. The software allows direct use of the ICOM 7100 through it’s on-board digital mode interface. Overall, this was fairly simple to setup and surprisingly I was able to send some test emails in the morning hours on 40m to a server in Houston. Be sure to select USB digital mode in the software. I set my power out to 50% and connected fairly easily. I am going to play with the settings a bit and see if I can improve connection reliability. At some point I’d like to try this using the FT-817ND as well.

Anybody who would like to exchange some test email with me can send their messages to NO5V@winlink.org

Update 4/20/2017: Per request I am attaching screenshots of my RMS Express configuration. Note that you will likely need to adjust your port settings. First up is the winmor settings:

winmor settings

Here are the Radio Settings

radio settings

2 responses to “Email over HF Revisited

  1. jjtrott April 16, 2017 at 12:31 am

    I read that you had successfully sent email using Winlink Express from the IC-7100. Would you be willing to share how you did it? Configurations in Winlink and on the radio? I would appreciate the advice.

    Like

    • rjbono April 20, 2017 at 2:35 pm

      Pretty straightforward. Install RMS Express and setup up your station with call sign locator etc. I’ll post an update to this post with screenshots of my radio and winmor settings. Note your mileage may vary…

      Like

Leave a Reply

