Worked the local VHF Digital Net

W8WKE runs a Wednesday night digital net at 6pm on our local repeater system. I had been wanting to try it for sometime but did not have an interface for my VHF rig. Clifford, N5CEY, hooked me up with one of his Easy Digi USB interfaces for my Yaesu FT-2900R rig. I set up Fldigi on my radio laptop and set it all up to the rig. The net uses MT63-2000L protocol. When the net started I was able to start decoding the transmission without any issues. Unfortunately, I could not transmit. The Interface handles the PTT with the rig and appears to the PC as a serial COM port. I had both DTR and RTS enabled but nothing worked. Then I noticed a small enable check box above the COM setting. I enabled it and the transmit started working without a hitch. I have played with HF modes on DM780 so I need to now learn Fldigi. When I get back from my next business trip I plan to hook up the VHF antenna to the IC-7100 and try and work it from there with HRD. Working this net was a lot of fun and I am looking forward to trying it again.

Leave a Reply

