Broadband-HamNET

I just got back from a business trip and decided to spend this afternoon dusting off some old Linksys routers to setup Broadband-HamNET firmware on them. I had to make a quick run to Home Depot for a couple of Ethernet patch cables but lucky I had everything else on-hand. I followed the instructions at broadband-hamnet.org and the setup was quick and uneventful. The routers I am using are Linksys WRT54GS version 1. I had played around sometime back with DD-WRT and found that this firmware was still on them. The new firmware installed without a problem. Once installed you just have to setup your call sign and new password. Just be sure to disable your current LAN when doing the setup so your PC doesn’t get confused. I did this on both routers and had them each connected to separate computers. At this point I can’t do much else but I was able to ping across the wireless link.

What I have now is basically a short range two node wireless network. Each node finds any others in range automatically and creates a mesh network. Imagine the first two computers on the internet…that is essentially what I have here now. A wireless network with no content. So to make this interesting I am going to install VMware Player which will allow me to run virtual machines. I will then install Linux as one of the virtual machines which I will configure to provide some familiar internet services such as web pages, FTP, IRC etc. This will allow all mesh nodes to access these services over the wireless link.

Longer range (no pun intended) plans are to get these mounted outside and try some distance link tests. Interesting way to get involved with the microwave portion of the ham bands.

 

2 responses to “Broadband-HamNET

  1. kb5zcsMichael April 17, 2016 at 9:14 pm

    You trying to set up an Mesh network…….

    Like

    • rjbono April 17, 2016 at 9:18 pm

      Yes…I am starting to play around with this. I have the routers setup and I need to get some content to serve up. Looking for some one to help test a cross town link…

      Like

Leave a Reply

