Vacation projects begin

I am on Christmas/New Years holiday here now and have started some projects I have been meaning to get to. First up was making some short coax patch cables for the portable rig. I also took the opportunity to replace the DC connectors on the amplifier with Anderson Powerpoles and shorten the wiring. I am planning to shorten some of the coax runs on the FT-450D as well so I have plenty of coax connectors on order.

I am also building a interface cable for my iPhone to connect to my Baofeng radio for APRS packet work. I will post on this separately as I start testing it.

I have also ordered two more long whips from Buddipole with the intention of building a portable 2 element yagi to work 20m thru 2m. This will be a mighty interesting experiment. I plan to have everything built up so that I can test when the whips arrive next week.

Last but not least, I am planning to setup the S9v33 vertical as an end fed vertical this week.

Time does fly when you’re having fun!

Leave a Reply

