New Koss SB45 Headset

I have been searching quite some time now for a decent and reasonably priced headset to use with the FT-450D. I ordered a Koss SB45 headset through Ebay that set me back $25. I already had a cable adapter and PTT switch to link up with it. It arrived yesterday and I did some testing with it out of the box. First impressions are quite good. The phones fits comfortably and have decent sensitivity. The ear cups fit snugly and isolate noise quite well. I did some voice tests using the rig monitor and the electret microphone provides nice clean audio. I had to lower the microphone gain a bit on the FT-450D as it was crossing my ALC settings. So far I am getting good audio reports. Overall very pleased with this setup now. Next step is to get a footswitch to free up my hands to work the logs.

sb45_1

3 responses to “New Koss SB45 Headset

  1. Darren March 17, 2017 at 1:38 am

    how do you have this connected to your ft450? I am using the Heil AD-1-YM adapter and it is not picking up the audio from the mic. The headset works fine in my computer just not in the rig.

    Like

    • rjbono March 18, 2017 at 8:07 pm

      I am using an adapter similar to that from eBay. Do a search on Yaesu headset and it will come up. You might set the rig to monitor and see if you hear your own voice.

      Like

      • Darren March 19, 2017 at 1:00 am

        I have found through research that the Koss SB45 has a condenser mic that requires bias voltage and the Heil adapter is a straight through that doesn’t carry bias voltage. So I would need the ebay home-brew adapter for the SB45. I ordered a Koss S40 headset that has a dynamic mic, which will work with my current adapter. Thanks for your write up on your blog.

        Like

Leave a Reply

