New Antenna Tuner

I have ordered a new antenna tuner for my base rig. I have been using an LDG YT-450 which is specific for use with the Yaesu FT-450D. Using a tuner for me is a must as I am using an end fed antenna on multiple bands. The YT-450 tunes ok but it has some shortcomings. First, it is SLOW….a full tune can take 30 seconds or more. A tune cycle with this tuner must be triggered using the button on the front and cannot be triggered from the rig or through HRD software. I am going to replace this with the MFJ-939Y (Y for Yaesu cabling). This tuner can be activated from the rig and is apparently very fast. My goal with using this will be more than just convenience, I expect to be able to setup my station for remote use using HRD.

2015-11-02_9-42-14

The unit should arrive on Wednesday so stay tuned for the unboxing and first use report.

Leave a Reply

