CQ WW SSB Contest…Making up for lost time!

What great timing this weekend. After 10 days without HF, the CQ WW SSB contest was a great way to make up for lost time. I made over 60 DX contacts over the weekend mainly on 10m with some on 15m as well. The activity started late Friday afternoon before the 0:00 UTC start time. I made a few contacts with folks warming up for the contest. I was not able to do much after 0:00 UTC other than see the spectrum light up on the computer as i had some other duties. I didn’t get to the radio again until Saturday afternoon which as fate would have it was an especially raining day here in the QTH. I tallied 45 contacts on the 3-1/2 hours of radio time on Saturday. Sunday was another late start with only 2 hours left before the end of the contest but 10m was HOT. Contacts were very easy and very fast on 10m. The greatest DX distance was over 9000 miles to Australia. I am hoping that many of the contacts on LOTW upload their logs as I can use the DXCC credits on many entities.

I found using my RTL-SDR dongle as a panadapter worked really well in hunting for stations and in some ways was way more satisfying than following DX cluster spots. All in all the skills learned I will apply in November during the ARRL Sweepstakes. Really enjoyed radio this weekend after such a long time off the air.

Leave a Reply

