Adding legs to my FT-817ND

I really enjoy using my FT-817ND in the field but one issue I have is propping the radio up so i can read the display and work the dials. I came across this on Ebay and decided to try it out. This arrived fairly quickly from Hong Kong and was a snap to install…that is once I got the existing screws off. I stripped one of the screw heads and a simple job turned into a major hassle. I removed the screw by first covering the microphone and other exposed jacks with some electrical tape. Then using a small “micro” file cut a new slot into the head until the screwdriver could do its work again. Once this was off, installing the new legs was easy. Here is how they look deployed:

$_57

Leave a Reply

