Thinking of a 2m Yagi

Looking at the Yagi again for 2m. The Moxon had a predicated gain of about 7.5dBi. This is roughly equivalent to a 2 element Yagi. So to get any improvement I would need to go with a 3 element Yagi. I’ve layed one out and here are the EZNEC predictions:

2015-07-22_12-25-582015-07-22_12-25-43

The compromise here is reduced beam width vs. higher gain. This would give me 12.1dBi of gain vs. the 7.5dBi on the Moxon.My guess is that at 5w I will be heard simplex in Weslaco and improve reception from the upper valley. I will probably put this on hold as I now have the parts I need to start my HF magnetic loop antenna project. I am also hoping to get an FT-857D soon that would give me 50W of VHF capability.

Leave a Reply

