No joy with End Fed Wire at South Padre Island Condo

I tried working the FT-817ND several times last week and although propagation was fairly good and I could hear many stations, I was unable to make a contact. I have pretty much given up on the End Fed Wire antenna on the third floor of the condo. I’ll spend some time with it at home and see if I can figure out how to get t to work.

Meanwhile, I have decided to try and build a portable magnetic loop antenna. I have sourced a suitable variable capacitor on Ebay and it should arrive today along with a 9ft RG-213 patch cable which I will use for the loop itself. I’ll post more on this as construction begins.

I have sourced all the parts for my 2m Moxon which I hope to start building later today.

Leave a Reply

