First Contest – ARRL DX SSB Contest

I participated in the ARRL DX SSB contest this last weekend as I wanted to experience how these work. This contest is 48 hours long and is for SSB Phone contacts to North America. Most of the stations that I worked were on LoTW so it is a good way to make contacts for awards. Most of what I worked was on 10m and even though propagation was not the best, I managed to make several notable contacts:

  • Alaska
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Portugal on 5W (broke the 1000W per mile barrier!)

Starting to see the contacts show up on LoTW these past few days. If they all eventually post I will have doubled my country count in one weekend. It is great to see the bands come alive during these events but it makes me wonder where everyone is at the rest of the time…

Leave a Reply

